Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | December 15, 2009

News Flash, Christmas is a Christian Holiday

     Ah, Christmas. I love Christmas. I love the music, the decorating, and the festivities. I even enjoy many of the secular aspects of the season. BUT (and this is a big BUT) I get really annoyed when Christ gets pushed into the background. I get testy when people try to downplay the incarnation so as not to “offend” anyone. (Uh, excuse me folks, HE is the reason for the season.) I get really testy when churches give secular Christmas priority over sacred Christmas.

     I’m going to be totally politically incorrect (which doesn’t come naturally to someone from the San Francisco Bay Area) and come right out and say it: Christmas is a Christian holiday, if you’re not into Christ then start your own holiday instead of trying to remove Christ from this one.

Yep, I said it. It’s not very charitable of me; you could say I sound cranky and selfish. So be it.

     That said, I hope that all the Christmas hype causes someone to ponder why there is a holiday commemorating the birth of Jesus Christ. I hope that someone decides to look into this whole Jesus thing to see what the fuss is all about. Jesus will change your life; I hope you will let him be your reason for the season.

May grace and peace be with you as we celebrate the birth of Jesus Christ.

Responses

  1. I would love to know what it was, in particular, that got you so “testy” 🙂 But as for your thoughts on this issue, all I can say is AMEN and AMEN!
    Blessings and MERRY CHRISTMAS:)

  2. If it wasn’t for gifts, Athiests wouldn’t be so quick to celebrate Christmas.


Leave a Reply

Categories

