Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | November 19, 2009

Do I have to?

     Last night I decided not to set my alarm for 6 am because I didn’t need to get up early this morning. Usually, I walk with a friend but she wasn’t going to be available so I thought I’d sleep in. I woke up at 6:10 am; I slept in a whopping 10 minutes! It appears that after forcing myself to get up early for several months 6 am has become my normal wake up time. It goes to show that making yourself do something for awhile can change you. (Did I mention that I’m not a morning person?) Forcing yourself to do something can be a good thing. In my case I get a lot more done when I get up at 6 am.

     Sometimes we benefit from forcing ourselves to do something we don’t particularly care for (or downright dislike). Force ourselves long enough and it becomes a part of us in a positive way. We know this when it comes to things like healthy eating and exercise. Make yourself do it long enough and it will become a lifestyle with benefits that exceed the immediate results.

     This same principle also applies to our Christian life. We don’t always want to live the way Jesus taught but if we make ourselves do those things they can become a part of who we are. When we genuinely follow Jesus Christ we are transformed for the better but sometimes we have to force ourselves to do the things Christ requires. We won’t always enjoy the process, but like healthy eating and exercise, we will benefit from it. What’s even better is that not only will we benefit but the world will benefit as well. Living as Christ taught us will spread love, justice, and mercy to others. The lives we touch will also be transformed – it’s a twofer!

     So if you’re having trouble living as a Christian (I think it’s safe to say we all fall into this category at some time) then make yourself do it just like you make yourself do all those other things that need to be done. At first it might not even be fun but eventually you will be transformed if you allow it. You will gain a way of life that is grounded in love, justice, and mercy and you will experience a peace and joy that will enrich your soul.  Force yourself if that’s what it takes, I have found that the new life born from the transformation is worth it.

Peace be with you.

Responses

  1. Nancy, Thank you for the inspiration. This is so true, as you point out, in many areas of our lives. For those of us who were lucky to be raised with the Christian faith it is always there for us to fall back on in times of trouble. Thanks again! Barb


Leave a Reply

Categories

