Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | September 9, 2009

Enjoy Life

     This morning I was thinking about what I should write about. There are so many topics worthy of theological reflection and social commentary and yet I don’t feel like thinking about any of them today. Maybe I’m just needing a break from thinking. I’m usually a thinker, the wheels in my mind are always turning, I’m always thinking and reflecting (I’m even paid to do that), so this is out of character for me. So what do I find myself doing? Thinking about how I’m not thinking – yeah, I know, that’s crazy.

     I’m thinking (LOL) that maybe God is giving me a brain block because God wants me to be enjoying this time of not thinking. Why? So I can appreciate life’s pleasures. It’s so easy to get caught up in our work and chores that we forget to simply enjoy being alive. Clearly, I need an appreciation break! I have a great view out my office window that I could be enjoying. I could be having fun playing with my dog right now. I could be enthralled by a fun, fluffy novel or captivated by music. I could be taking pleasure in the Chihuly exhibit downtown. There is an endless supply of things I could be enjoying and most of them are free.

     God’s creation is full of opportunities for pleasure and I need to get out there and appreciate them. It may even take a little effort on my part but it will be worth it. I’m confident that God doesn’t want any of us to be all work and no play – God wants us to enjoy life and be enriched by the blessings that surround us. God wants balance in our lives so we can be happy and healthy – the opportunities are there but it’s up to us to take advantage of them.

     So I’m having an appreciation break this afternoon. I’m taking off my thinking cap, I’m ignoring my chores, and I’m going to enjoy the afternoon. I hope you do the same some time this week. God wants us to enjoy life so let’s do it.

     Blessings.

Responses

  1. What a great reminder that God’s wants us to enjoy life–and that balance is important. That’s one area that we can all relate to.
    Thanks!
    Pam


Leave a Reply

Categories

