Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | August 10, 2009

Holy Spirit Power Grab

     While taking my morning shower today I felt the Holy Spirit speaking to me. That happens a lot in the shower. Maybe it’s because there aren’t any distractions, or maybe it’s because having the water pour down on me subconsciously reminds me of my baptism. Who knows! The one thing I do know is that the Spirit is at work at all times and in all places and clearly has no qualms about talking to me in the shower. The important thing is that I listened and here’s what I heard.

     The Spirit is at work trying to take over our churches. That’s right folks; the Spirit is vying for power in “our” churches. After looking in on us and seeing too many stagnant hearts, the Spirit realized that a power grab was necessary. We’ve been doing things our way and it hasn’t been working too well. We have dying congregations falling on the sword of we’ve always done it this way and we have “popular” congregations full of attendees but not converts. Yes, there are exceptions but not enough of them.

     We should have allowed the Holy Spirit to have control of our churches from day one but we haven’t let that happen. It’s not intentional; we just get caught up pursuing our preferences and our ideas. We fight the leading of the Holy Spirit whenever we’re called to do something that doesn’t suit us. We blame our failures on outside forces such as demographics and culture or we blame the pastor or the denomination – anything but ourselves. We lull ourselves with shallow faith rather than allow ourselves to be transformed into the image of God.

     We’ve gotten ourselves into a selfish mess again so the Spirit is at work trying to take over and turn “our” churches into God’s church – a place where we can be transformed and God’s mission can be actualized, a place where the heart of Christ is found within all of us. All we have to do is open ourselves up to the power of the Holy Spirit. We have to allow the Spirit to speak to us and use us. I challenge you and your congregation to give up your power and let the Holy Spirit take control.

Responses

  1. I spend much of my prayer time seeking God’s will. Too many failed efforts at unilateral thinking have led me to lose confidence in my decision-making.

    Pastor Linda Jones’ is preaching a series on visioning at Pharisburg and Magnetic Springs UMC. I hope that it will invigorate us and lead us to an exciting and common vision.

    From my perspective, there exists much opportunity doing more together, but we often act more like Pharisees than the Christians we claim to be. I pray you are right in this “power grab” thing and God’s Spirit falls fresh on us all.

  2. This particular blog could not have come at a more “needful” time. I am going to print this one out and carry it with me to read and meditate on any time I have a “free” monent. Thanks, Bettimae


Leave a Reply

Categories

