Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | June 1, 2009

God Doesn’t Think You Suck

If God is calling me to a new life in Christ does that mean I currently suck? When I read scripture I find that God/Christ/Spirit and the biblical authors frequently call us to change ourselves, to transform ourselves into the image of God, to be more Christ like. Does that call to change mean I’m inferior as I am? Is God unhappy with the way I’ve turned out? If a pastor preaches on these texts should I take it as an insult? 

Folks, I don’t know how else to say this to you but God doesn’t think you suck. God wants you to be transformed because God knows that your life will be so much better if you have the heart of Christ. You will be happier, you will have more friends, you will experience more pleasure, you will enjoy life more than you can imagine in your present state of being. No matter where you are in your life right now, it could be better and why wouldn’t you want to be better? 

Here’s a real simplistic example of things being better. I love ice cream and I happily consumed mass produced store bought ice cream for decades. I heard about those gourmet ice cream places but I thought gourmet ice cream was ridiculous. I was certain it was just over priced ice cream; after all, how much better could ice cream be, it’s such a simple product. When people told me I should try the gourmet ice cream I was a little indignant – what’s wrong with my ice cream you snob. Then one day a friend of mine took me to an ice cream shop where they made their own gourmet ice cream – it was awesome. The texture and flavor were beyond any ice cream I had ever consumed. I had no idea ice cream could taste that good. Even the vanilla was incredible and I always considered vanilla too bland. I was sold – it was better to eat gourmet ice cream. It was worth the extra effort to drive to San Rafael (this was back in the old days when grocery stores didn’t carry high end ice cream). The old store bought ice cream was still good but I now knew that it wasn’t as awesome as ice cream could be – I couldn’t go back. 

And that’s how it is with my new life in Christ. The old me was good, I didn’t suck but this is better. It was worth it to allow God to transform my life. And with each phase of my transformation (which is still ongoing) I find myself saying, “Wow! This is even better! I didn’t know life could be this good. I wish I’d done this sooner, I could have been so much happier all this time!”  

I’m telling you folks, God doesn’t think you suck. God just wants you to be happier.

Responses

  1. You don’t make it easy keeping off pounds with Graeters right next door…

  2. I’m still on SPD bought Coffee ice cream.

  3. Hey Nancy,
    One important distinction that I was thinking of while reading your post is that while we will definitely have a much richer life in Christ, similar to the difference between the cheap store bought ice cream and the richness of the gourmet variety, life itself will not necessarily be easier. As a matter of fact, I have found that life seems to have gotten much more difficult and complex since I began my walk with Christ, but there is no doubt that I am much richer for the journey.
    Blessings!
    PS: I sure am glad to know God doesn’t think I suck:) LOL


Leave a Reply

Categories

