Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | May 1, 2009

Tending to Feet & God

     I finally gave in and went to the doctor today. A year ago I injured my foot while walking my dog. Nothing major, just some pain and inflammation; nothing time and Advil couldn’t cure (so I thought). My foot got better but every once in a while it would start to hurt and swell again and rather than tend to this recurring injury I would rely on time to make it better. In other words, I did the opposite of what I would tell others to do.
     So now I’m sitting in the waiting room again waiting for my post x-rays exam. The magazines are boring so I start thinking and reflecting, what else can a bored pastor do? The doctor had told me that I had options that would improve my situation. Hmm, I guess that means I have been suffering off and on needlessly. Health and wholeness had been within reach all this time, if I had tended to the matter I wouldn’t be in this situation. Had I been too lazy to tend to it, to confident in my own ability to diagnose and cure, too content to settle for being “okay”? I was the obstacle preventing me from experiencing health and wholeness.
     I began wondering if there were other areas in my life that could be better if I tended to them more. Am I complacent, too willing to settle for “good” or “okay”? I started to reflect on what this meant for my relationship with God. Relationships require tending. Sure, minimal effort can sustain some level of relationship but that’s like being an acquaintance rather than a friend. Am I treating God like an acquaintance? Am I missing out on an awesome relationship because I am too lazy to tend to it, too willing to settle for less, too confident that I’m doing the right thing? I know that God is a great friend, always there to listen and offer encouragement and always willing to forgive me when I mess up but am I missing out on all this relationship could be? If I tended to our relationship more often could I be experiencing health, wholeness, and goodness on a level I don’t even realize? I now realize that I have a lame foot due to poor tending, do I also have a lame relationship with God do to poor tending?
     Unlike a lame foot, a lame relationship with God can be cured right away – no appointment necessary, no waiting rooms, and no cost. All you have to do is talk to God regularly – simple tending, great results.

Responses

  1. I hope your foot gets feeling better soon, I will keep you in my prayers:)
    Jim

  2. I appreciate your reflection, Nancy. We are often obstacles to our own healing and wholeness. Praying that you are feeling more than “okay” real soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

