Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | April 27, 2009

Loving God

     “But God wills our good, and our good is to love [God]…and to love [God] we must know [God]: and if we know [God], we shall in fact fall on our faces. If we do not, that only shows that what we are trying to love is not yet [God]…” (C.S. Lewis, The Problem of Pain, pg 46). Huh, that makes sense. I always find something to ponder when I read C.S. Lewis. I can’t possibly love God unless I truly know God (in as much as that is humanly possible). I can’t love a person unless I know him/her. I could like someone or I could be a fan but I could not genuinely love the person unless I got to know him/her. So, do I love God or do I just like God?
     Lewis posits that if we genuinely know and love God we will “fall on our faces.” If not, the object of our attention is not God. If we love the God that is (rather than the God we are trying to construct and conform to our own ideals) we will be overcome with awe. In other words, if you don’t find yourself bowled over by God then you haven’t come to know God yet. It can be easy to confuse our ideas of God with the reality of who God is. Our human constructs, biases, and emotional baggage can get in the way of our seeing God for who God is.
     So if you find yourself not being madly in love with God it’s because you are relating to an artificial image of God rather than God. If you know God you can’t help but love God and if you love God you can’t help but be bowled over by God’s love and goodness.

Responses

  1. Kind of like being married.


Leave a Reply

Categories

