Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | April 21, 2009

Hanging with God

     I was walking my dog this morning and started thinking about all the quality time I spend with him. I suspect I give him more quality time than anyone else. Not that I neglect my other relationships, my husband and I enjoyed quality time during our vacation last week. We spend time together regularly, usually just hanging out, going to a movie, etc. Quality time is important in a relationship and my husband and I make the effort to make time for it. While walking, I reflected on the fact that I hadn’t had a lot of quality time with God lately. Sure, there’s all that quality time on Sunday during worship but that’s not the same as having some one-on-one time. I promptly admonished myself for being a slacker.
     It’s not that I don’t think about God. We preachers spend a lot of time thinking about God and serving God but we often get so caught up in doing that we forget to find the time to just hang out with God and enjoy some quality one-on-one time. If God and I were a married couple, I’d be the workaholic who unintentionally neglects my spouse because I’m too busy trying to be the good provider. God would be the patient, loving spouse who is always reaching out to me, wanting to spend some time with me, wanting to just sit down and talk for awhile or go for a quiet walk. We all know how those kinds of relationships suffer.
     I fear that I might be taking advantage of God. I know that God is forgiving so maybe I’m slacking off because I believe that God will forgive me later. Like the neglectful spouse, I might be taking advantage of the situation because I believe I can get away with it. Or maybe I think there will be plenty of time later to make up for my neglect. Hmm, maybe God and I need family counseling. When I compare my relationship with God with that of a marriage I can see that I’m the problem. I’m the one who needs to change my priorities and pay more attention to our relationship. God is always available for quality one-one-one time; I’m the one who needs to make the effort.
     Now that I’ve thought about it, what am I going to do about it?

Responses

  1. Good stuff, Nancy. I appreciated the marriage analogy — particularly the part about being the workaholic spouse. That rings true for many of us in ministry. Thanks for this reminder today.


Leave a Reply

Categories

