Posted by: Nancy Day-Achauer | April 19, 2009

Nature

I’ve been on vacation for a week, seven days of R&R enjoying the simple pleasures of lounging, sleeping, and reading mystery novels.  While glancing out the window, I noticed how spring was taking hold of my neighborhood.  The grass was turning a rich, dark green, the trees were budding, and daffodils were blooming.  It then occurred to me that I needed to spend some time appreciating God’s beautiful gift of creation.  Sure I notice the beauty of nature regularly but I’m usually looking at the big picture, the overall effect.  I admire a neighbor’s landscaping, ooh and aah over a sunset and the like but I don’t often look closely at the details.  Seeing the big picture is important but in nature the parts are as important as the sum. I regret that I don’t always really appreciate the beautiful details of God’s creation and I don’t thank God enough for this gift.  

I started looking at the grass.  Unlike Astro Turf, real grass has unique blades of different shades of green and different widths and shapes.  I noticed the daffodils, the veining of the petals and richness of the colors.  Nature is so incredibly detailed and varied and we seldom notice, much less appreciate, its complexity and diversity.   The details add to the appreciation and the awe of creation.  We miss out on the abundant life God offers us when we fail to notice all that is being offered.

If someone gave me a beautiful painting I would heartily thank him or her and I would think of the person each time I enjoyed the painting.  The same could be said for any other gift I received and I suspect that this is true of others as well.  I wonder, however, if we are doing this in response to God’s gifts.  When we see something beautiful do we lift up thanks and praise to God or do we simply think “how lovely” and go about our business.  When we pray, do we include thanks for God’s gift of nature or do we throw in one of those general, all purpose thanks for everything prayers? 

God’s gift of creation is such a wonderful gift it deserves regular appreciation and special thanks and praises.  Have you thanked God today?

Responses

  1. We just need to take the time to notice. Thanks for reminding me. I needed that!
    Blessings

  2. Hello,
    Super post, Need to mark it on Digg

  3. Super post, Need to mark it on Digg
    Bodyc


Leave a Reply

Categories

